Skip to content
August 11, 2011 / safegirl

Glastonbury

We had such a great time first night at Glastonbury.  Started at the Pyramid and Shelly, Maxine, Jen and I joined the throng, sang our hearts out to Morrisey and U2.  Supposed to have been a bit of a demo with U2, but it went virtually unnoticed.  Glad there wasn’t any unpleasantness.  Had a good laugh with some guys in the next tent.  One or two beers.  Rain and mud is virtually unnoticeable. Tonight there was a great line-up….Rumer, Paolo Nutini,  Elbow, Coldplay.  Don’t know what’s happened to Maxine and Jen.  They went off to the Other Stage to see Jesse J and haven’t seen them since.  I expect they’ve met up with someone or another.  Anyway, Shelly and I were having a whale of a time.  Met some guys from Essex.  Shared a few beers.  They were so funny!

One of them, Bob, was a real clown.  I thought I was going to wet myself at one time.  He made me laugh so much.  We ended up with their crowd.  They had met up with a group from Manchester so there were about ten of them in all.  A couple of them had girls with them.  Lots of tattoos and piercings.  Bit different to the sort of friends I usually hang around with.  Couple of them had had a lot to drink, plus don’t know what else.  They started to get a bit insulting.  I wanted to leave but Shelley had paired up with Bob and said she was enjoying herself and wanted to stay.  Anyway, I’d had one or two beers too many and was feeling a bit wobbly, so I gave in.  I think I must have fallen asleep.  I was so tired.  Then I was awoken by someone trying to kiss me.  It was one of the blokes that had been getting abusive.  He stunk of beer and cigarettes and he was all over me.  I managed to pull away, and stand up.  I looked around for Shelley but she was nowhere to be seen.  The drunk bloke started to get to his feet and made a grab for me, but I was able to get away.

Don’t know how but I managed  to find my way back to the tent.  Then realised that I was desperate to go to the toilet.  Quickly got my bag with the toilet roll in it and made my way over toward the porta-loos.  When I came out I then realised  that the drunk bloke had been following me.  I started to wish Shelley was with me.  For some crazy reason I started to run back toward the tent, but I slipped in the mud and before I knew it, he had grabbed my arm as I tried to get up.  Then panic set in.  As I swung my bag the coloured pendant hanging on the strap, that Mum had given me to use in times of emergency, swung out and caught me in the face.  Then I came to my senses and pulled the chain of the Panic Alarm.  As the deafening shrill sound of the Panic Alarm filled the air, the bloke let go and ran off.  Thank god for that Panic Alarm.  Haven’t seen that horrible bloke since, and wasn’t sure about staying for the third night.  But Shelley and the others are back, and I am feeling more confident  now that I realise what a saviour the Panic Alarm is.  The Panic Alarm is going with me everywhere from now on and Shelley, Maxine and Jen are keen for Mum to order them Panic Alarms too.

Leave a comment